Glass Animals: Gnarls Barkley “Crazy” Cover & More

I wasn’t planning on writing about the same artist twice, but this song just came onto my radar today and god damn it was too good not to share.

Glass Animals covered Gnarls Barkley’s “Crazy” for Australian radio station triple j on Thursday and I love it. It is a unique take on already great song – just adding the chill Glass Animals vibes.

triple j has a segment called ‘Like A Version’ where every Friday morning they have an artist come on and cover a song. Some of my previous favorites have been San Cisco’s cover of Daft Punk’s “Get Lucky”, The Griswolds’ cover of Vance Joy’s “Riptide”, and even a previous Glass Animals appearance on triple j covering “Love Lockdown” by Kanye West. I’d even argue the Kanye cover is even better than this, but both are fantastic in their own ways.

British radio station BBC1 has a similar program called the Live Lounge, but typically with larger artists than triple j. My favorite from BBC1 has been Panic! At Disco’s cover of “Starboy” by The Weeknd .

Generally covers are amazing, as long as they evolve the song in some aspect. I find it boring when an artist just copies a song, without giving it their own touch to it. Glass Animals’ covers of “Crazy” and “Love Lockdown” changed up the song enough where it was almost like I was listening to a new song.

What the world really needs is another cover of “Wonderwall” by Oasis (please god no).

Link: YouTube

2 thoughts on “Glass Animals: Gnarls Barkley “Crazy” Cover & More”

  1. I love Glass Animals and this cover. I think they did a really good job on putting their own twist to change the song up a bit. I also don’t appreciate covers as much when artists don’t change the song at all because at that point why are you even covering it? I love finding good covers on YouTube, but this is a really good one!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

